[Review] Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer by John Grisham

5 Jun

(Part of this post was first written for my Materials for Tweens class.)

Theo Boone, the son of a real estate lawyer and a divorce lawyer, loves the courthouse and the thrill of a good trial. However, things get complicated when he is the only one who knows the truth about a high-profile murder case in his small town.

In Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer, Grisham shows that he can write for kids without dumbing things down in the clear explanations that flow naturally in the text and help younger readers understand complex subjects, like foreclosures and how a trial works. The main storyline is dotted with scenes from Theo’s ordinary middle school life, with cheerleaders and popularity contests. Theo himself comes from an upper middle class family, but there is an effort made to realistically depict the lives and emotions of illegal immigrants, although other efforts to inject multiculturalism into the book are shallow.

I actually started the second book in the series in between semesters, but I was disappointed that the story did not continue where things left off at the end of the first book. Maybe if I’d had time to read the whole thing before the eBook expired, there might’ve been something about the characters from the case he took on in the first book, but it was hard for me to get into it after I realized that this was a completely different case. I think now that I know what to expect, I could try again and be more motivated to finish the book, though.

Download the student guide and other extras at the Theodore Boone website.

3 Responses to “[Review] Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer by John Grisham”

  1. Alex J. Cavanaugh (@AlexJCavanaugh) September 26, 2014 at 6:19 am #

    I’ve read a couple of his books but not this one.

  2. Sheena-kay Graham September 26, 2014 at 12:12 pm #

    I have read John Grisham before but none of the kid books. Rereading a book can bring a whole new perspective. Go for it. Visiting from the A-Z Road Trip blog.

  3. cleemckenzie September 26, 2014 at 12:28 pm #

    This sounds like a great book. I’m always looking for good kid books. Thanks. And Blogging from AtoZ gave me your link.

Leave a comment