[B] Black Beauty by Anna Sewell

2 Apr

(This was first written for my History of Youth Literature class.)

For my pre-1900 book, I read Black Beauty by Anna Sewell, which was first published in 1877. The book is an autobiographical account of the life of a horse told from the horse’s point of view. Sewell’s descriptions of horses and their behavior make it easy for readers to imagine themselves in the horse’s place and sympathize with his feelings. I can see how this book would turn young readers into animal lovers (as it did to at least one of my students who would be a vegetarian if her mom would let her). At the same time, I also felt very strongly the underlying message of treating others with love and respect conveyed through the story.

When I was growing up, I wanted a horse as much as the next girl, but because everyone around me was reading this book, I thought it was too “mainstream” and didn’t read it just to be different. By the time people around me had stopped reading it, I thought it was too “easy” and never went back to read it. While I was in college, I played polo for a year and learned that it was dirty, hard work taking care of horses, which cured me of the desire to ever own my own horse. Having experience with horses helped me better imagine what was going on in the book, though, and in a way, I’m glad that my first time reading the book came after I learned how to ride and take care of a horse myself.

Black Beauty gave me goosebumps from the very first chapter reading about the title character’s experiences with kindness and cruelty throughout his life. I could see how Sewell wrote her message of love for animals and other people in a way that would teach children (and adults) the core of the Christian faith in a very real way without being preachy. Maybe I’m getting sappy in my old(ish) age, but as with all good books, I was drawn into the world of Black Beauty and didn’t want to leave.

Also, as a Los Angeles native, I particularly enjoyed Sewell’s descriptions of weaving a horse and cab through London traffic. I wish that my car were as intelligent driving through L.A. traffic as Black Beauty was going through London!

Black Beauty is usually seen as a girly book, but I don’t see any reason why boys would not enjoy this story as much as girls. There’s plenty of action and adventure, and the main character (Black Beauty) is male. I think more boys should be encouraged to read this story. 🙂

This post is my Blogging from A to Z entry for the letter B.

6 Responses to “[B] Black Beauty by Anna Sewell”

  1. Nagzilla April 2, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    So glad to see you’re doing A to Z again. Yay!
    I can honestly say I never read Black Beauty or other horse books as a kid. I had a bad riding experience once when on vacation (I think I was 6 or 7) so I was never enamored with horses like a lot of my peers. I may have to go check it out now.

  2. Sharon Himsl April 2, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    Hi! This was one of my favorite books as a girl. It started a horse phase where I took riding lessons and dreamed of owning a horse. Never happened, but those were sweet days. Makes me want to read it again.

  3. Sandra Campbell/Sandy Campbell April 2, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    One of my all time favorites, and certainly my youngest sisters….she ended up becoming an English rider and owning several horses!! Very inspiring story for young people, and you did a great job on your post too!!

  4. Joe Owens April 4, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    THe classical story of the beautiful horse has been the topic of many movies over the years.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [P] Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi | nita's books - April 18, 2013

    […] read this book for my pre-1900 book in my History of Youth Literature class, but I decided to read Black Beauty instead because I already knew the basic story of Pinocchio. I went back and read it for my […]

  2. Book Title Scavenger Hunt Answers | nita's books - September 14, 2015

    […] [B] Black Beauty by Anna Sewell […]

Leave a comment