[D] Drawing from Memory by Allen Say

4 Apr

(This was first written for my Materials for Tweens class.)

Award-winning author and illustrator Allen Say wrote Drawing from Memory, a half-narrative, half-graphic novel about his childhood in Japan, where he first started working on his artistic skills. Richly illustrated with both photographs and drawings in different styles, the narrative focuses on his relationship with his art and with his teacher, Noro Shinpei. The different styles used throughout the book may feel disjointed at times, but readers will enjoy the little mini-narratives in the comic strip asides and in his commentary.

Although this book is set in Japan, it deals with struggles that many Asian Americans face today while following their dreams, including the cultural stigma of becoming an artist. Tweens may also be familiar with his picture books, which have earned him a Caldecott medal and honor. This book was a 2012 Sibert honor book.

This post is my Blogging from A to Z entry for the letter D.

6 Responses to “[D] Drawing from Memory by Allen Say”

  1. Carrie-Anne April 4, 2014 at 9:31 am #

    I’d love to read this book, since I was very impressed by Mr. Say’s art and storytelling abilities when I read his book Grandfather’s Journey for my Children’s Literature class. I’m also a longtime Nipponophile.

  2. melanie schulz April 4, 2014 at 12:01 pm #

    I’ve never read his work, but I am a vey visual person, so I’m sure I would like it.

  3. Jessica April 4, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    That sounds like an awesome book. What a cool way to learn about another culture with artwork and pictures.

  4. Jocelyn Rish April 4, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

    It sounds like the mixture of formats makes this a fun read. I’ll have to add it to my dangerously tall TBR pile.🙂

    Hope you’re having fun with the A to Z challenge,
    Jocelyn

  5. Glenda Cates April 4, 2014 at 7:55 pm #

    This sounds like a interesting book and one I will look for.

  6. Kimberly Robello April 8, 2014 at 10:50 am #

    My aunt, who is a retired teacher, gave this book to my son. The drawings are impressive and the story is fascinating.

Leave a Reply

