[3 words] sunflower/jar/bike

11 Dec

Originally written Monday, December 10, 2012

As I walked my bike down the dirt path through the fields, I noticed something behind me, following my every move. When I stopped, it stopped, too. When I started walking, it started again as well.

I bent to tie my shoe, sneaking a look at my shadow. It was a black cat with a white patch on one eye and a white tip on its tail, meeting my eyes unconcernedly with its yellow ones.

When we passed by my neighbor’s sunflower fields, the cat suddenly ran ahead, stopping in front of a tall, yellow flower. Sitting in front of it, the cat met my eyes again, as if daring me to ask what it wanted.

“Do you want to take this home with us?” I asked. My neighbor wouldn’t mind if I picked one or two.

With the flower safely in the basket of my bike, I continued my journey with my new companion. The cat now walked along beside me, no longer hiding in my shadow.

I wasn’t surprised when the cat followed me inside my house once I got home. I put the sunflower in an empty mason jar on my kitchen table and stood back to admire my handiwork.

The cat jumped on the counter and meowed its approval.

I poured a dish of milk and set it on the ground. “I think I’ll call you Sunny.”

(230 words)

Leave a Reply

