[3 Words] NaNoWriMo

1 Nov

In order to get ready for NaNoWriMo this year, I did a short writing exercise every day from late-September until I got too busy ^^; Basically, I made a list of random nouns that I thought would be interesting to write about and grouped them into threes, trying to pick words that are not normally found together and creating 3-word writing prompts.

Using those prompts, I did an exercise I do with my students called “power writing,” where you write for 5 minutes trying to get as many words as possible while incorporating all three words into the story. After the 5 minutes were up, I took a few minutes to finish the story and edit (typically spending about 15 minutes total on each story, although some obviously took a little more time than that). I ended up with 18 “power writing” entries that I will post throughout the month of November.

I’ll post the prompt and the story I came up with, but feel free to use the words as prompts for your writing, too! You can also post links in the comments if you want to share🙂

Leave a Reply

