Last day of school!

15 May

Japanese lesson for the day: お疲れ様でした (otsukare sama deshita)

It means “thanks for your hard work,” or literally something along the lines of “you must be tired” (I’m not entirely making that last one up–“tired” is 疲れた or tsukareta).

It’s what Japanese people say to each other at the end of the work day, or when they complete a big project. I loved saying this at the end of the day when I worked in Japan (and when I worked for a Japanese company in the States). It was so nice to have that acknowledgement of the work you did that day. For me, it was a nice separation of work and home, but I’m sure that wasn’t the case for most of my Japanese coworkers.

Still, this is how I feel right now. I’m in the last 15 minutes or so of my first semester into my MLIS (although I was pretty much done with my last assignment by the end of the weekend), and I’ve been telling myself otsukare at the end of every big project I’ve done so far. I still have work, and freelance work, and I have stuff scheduled in for pretty much every day of my break between semesters, but I am definitely ready for a break from school. I may even get some reading done!😀

A quick note for A to Z: Thanks for all of your comments and congrats on the reflections post! I’m already preparing for next year! 

2 Responses to “Last day of school!”

  1. blissflower1969 May 16, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    I love that it roughly translates to “you must be tired.” Because frankly, at the end of the work day, that’s exactly what I am. Thanks for sharing! And I forwarded the link to my daughter, because I’m sure she’d love the Japanese lesson.

    • nita May 16, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

      That’s how I always like to think about it (even though I think the literal meaning is closer to something like “you’ve been working hard”). I’m hoping to add more Japanese here, but I’m still trying to figure out how to balance it with my reviews…

Leave a Reply

