[N] Nathan and Nicholas Alexander by Lulu Delacre

16 Apr

It seems fitting that both my entries for the letter J and the letter N have books that carry strong memories for me of reading with my sister (her name starts with a J).

Nathan and Nicholas Alexander is a picture book about the friendship between an elephant and a mouse. I’m pretty sure Nathan was the elephant and Nicholas Alexander was the mouse (I have a vague image of the mouse being pompous and emphasizing his whole name, but that could have just been my reading of it). My favorite part was the toy chest partitioned off so that Nicholas Alexander could live in it. I never had a toy chest, but I always wanted to do that.

This book is special to me because I used to read it to my sister before she could read (or even really remember, because she couldn’t really remember the book when I mentioned the name to her). She was probably 2 or 3, so I was in 2nd or 3rd grade, which is perfect, because School Library Journal has it for preschool to 2nd grade.

I grew up watching shows like Reading Rainbow and Storytime, so I was probably just copying what I had seen on TV. I’m pretty sure I kept at it until way past my sister was old enough to read on her own (I was reading Harry Potter to her when the first book came out in her Scholastic book order, and she was about ten).

I kept reading to her because I was always so impatient for there to be someone that I could talk about books with, and it took a while before she could read as fast as me. (She is still probably a much more careful reader, though. I read “prefect” as “perfect” the first few times through the first Harry Potters, and she was the one who pointed it out to me. Hated it at the time, of course, but I’m resigned to it now.)

Nathan and Nicholas Alexander is a really cute story about an unlikely friendship that would be fun to read with a pre-schooler. Or better yet, have an older sibling read it to the preschooler, so they can share the story together!

I haven’t done many picture books on this blog because I haven’t read many lately, although that is starting to change, since a close cousin just had a baby. Recommendations for her (or for me to read to her) would be welcome! What are some of your favorite board or picture books?

This post is my Blogging from A to Z entry for the letter N. 

Leave a Reply

