[H] H.I.V.E. by Mark Walden

9 Apr

H.I.V.E. = The Higher Institute of Villainous Education.

I loved this book from the title, and the story (and its sequels), weren’t too shabby, either. They reminded me of Harry Potter mashed together with Mission:Impossible or another flashy action movie with cool gadgets. The acronyms in the book all spelled out something meaningful, which was also fun.

It was while I was reading this book that I realized that books were being written for shorter attention spans these days. This book reads like a spy movie or T.V. show (which isn’t surprising, since the author has an M.A. in Twentieth Century Literature, Film and Television and used to be a video game producer/designer according to Wiki).

That said, other than the shortage of commas, this is (another) favorite new discovery. I’m waiting anxiously for the full series to come out in the States so I can buy a box set!

Really action-packed, full of diverse characters (one of whom even speaks American English!) and strong male and female characters. Great for reluctant readers and book lovers of all ages and backgrounds. (The main character is a 13-year-old boy, and School Library Journal lists it as being for grades 5-8.)

This post is my Blogging from A to Z entry for the letter H.

6 Responses to “[H] H.I.V.E. by Mark Walden”

  1. Dianna Fielding April 9, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Sounds like an interesting read. The author is probably lacking commas because I steal them all!

    Good luck with the challenge!

    Dianna Fielding
    sociologyfornerds.com

    • nita April 9, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      Haha, yes, this is a really fun series (and I probably overuse commas, too, but I like having them where they are supposed to be…). Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Wendy Lawrence April 9, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I forgot about this book! It was on my to-read list for awhile, but since I keep that list in my head, it seems to have fallen off! I’m going to pick this book up soon. Thanks!

    • nita April 9, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      Hi Wendy! This was one that I almost forgot about until I saw it at the library, but I’m glad it found its way into my hands!

      • Wendy Lawrence April 10, 2012 at 4:30 am #

        Excellent–I downloaded it yesterday, which earns it the dubious honor of being the first book I will ever read electronically…I figure I need to at least give it a try!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book List « nita's books - December 11, 2012

    […] by Gregory Maguire Magic by the Book by Nina Bernstein Coraline by Neil Gaiman Tiger* by Jeff Stone H.I.V.E.: The Higher Institute of Villainous Education* by Mark Walden The Palace of Laughter by Jon Berkeley The Name of This Book is Secret* by […]

Leave a Reply

