[E] The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

5 Apr

(#66 on School Library Journal‘s Top 100 Chapter Book Poll Results from 2012)

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly (2009) is set in 1899 and is about a girl who would rather observe the world around her than act like the lady that she is expected to become. It was a Newbery Honor Book for 2010.

The first time I read this book, I thought that it had a catchy name that sounded familiar, but I suppose that was because the author was trying to evoke the historical fiction of the time. Ever since then, I’ve had a hard time figuring out if I’d read the book before or not. I checked it out this semester because it was on the Top 100 list of books we could choose from for our final project. After re-reading the first few chapters, I realized that I had in fact read it before, but that I’d read it on my iPhone when I was checking out tons of books from OverDrive. Although I’m pretty sure enjoyed it, I guess it wasn’t particularly memorable for me. ^^;

Nonetheless, it is an Honor Book for a reason, and it would be a fun read for girls who want to read about smart girls who go against the norm and/or for those who enjoy historical fiction.

This post is my Blogging from A to Z entry for the letter E.

5 Responses to “[E] The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly”

  1. Susan Scott April 5, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    Funny how that happens sometimes when you know there is something familiar abut what you’re reading but you can’t quite remember at the time! The book sounds great – going against the norm!

  2. francenestanley April 5, 2013 at 2:14 am #

    It’s the same with films. Similat plots make you think you’ve seen it before at the start. I just read about the top 100 books voted by teachers. Included it in my other blog this morning. http://475035832790540880.weebly.com/blog.html
    A – Z Challenge: http://francene-wordstitcher.blogspot.co.uk/

  3. S. L. Hennessy April 5, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    This sounds like such a great book. I’ve never heard of it before, but it’s a great suggestion!

    Happy A through Z blogging.
    pensuasion.blogspot.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [J] Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson | nita's books - April 11, 2013

    [...] was smart, brave, resourceful, and just plain fun to read about. She was basically what I had hoped Calpurnia Tate would be, but Callie Vee did not keep my attention the way Maia [...]

  2. SLJ’s Top 100 Chapter Books 2012 | nita's books - April 19, 2013

    [...] #64 The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pene du Bois (1947) #65 Wonder by R.J. Palacio (2012) #66 The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly (2009) #67 A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck (1998) #68 The High King by [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

