[Q] The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whelan Turner

19 Apr

I can’t believe I didn’t discover Megan Whelan Turner until last year! I mean, she was even in Disney Adventure! And I had a subscription to that for years, although I was already in high school by the time her story came out in it and had stopped subscribing.

The Queen of Attolia is the second book in her The Queen’s Thief series (which, according to Wiki, is a fan-coined name). I try to introduce the first book of a series as much as possible, but I’m making an exception since I need a book for “Q” (I suppose I could have used the name of the series like I did for The Immortals Quartet by Tamora Pierce, but I’m trying to keep it to book titles as much as possible this month). I loved this series so much that I bought all four books after reading the ebooks from the library.

The world Turner writes has elements of Greek myths, but it is really about political maneuverings with a little intervention by the gods. It does remind me a bit of Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books, which have some of the same feel to them. Turner and Pierce both do a great job with characterization, and Gen reminds me of George Cooper from the Tortall books. The politics is as engaging as Suzanne Collins’s Hunger Games, and there’s a bit of Percy Jackson thrown in with the mythologies. And there are more unexpected twists than any of those series, I think. (Just writing this makes me want to go back and re-read them!)

Some profanity in The Queen of Attolia makes me not want to use it with my fifth graders, who can still be somewhat immature when it comes to things like that. I would definitely use the first book, The Thief, though. It’s a great book, written in first person, even though the rest of the series is written in third person. It has the added bonus of being a Newberry Honor book in 1997, which is always nice to tell the parents.

This series has strong male and female characters with enough action for the boys and a little romance for the girls. Great for fans of any of the series I mentioned above, although the series does get a little darker after the first book.

This post is my Blogging from A to Z entry for the letter Q.

4 Responses to “[Q] The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whelan Turner”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Newbery Medal Award Winners, 1922-present « nita's books - December 11, 2012

    [...] by Polly Horvath (Farrar Straus Giroux) Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (HarperCollins) ♥ The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner (Greenwillow/Morrow) ♥♥ Catherine, Called Birdy by Karen Cushman [...]

  2. Book List « nita's books - December 11, 2012

    [...] Ridley Pearson The False Princess by Eilis O’Neal Nobody’s Princess* by Esther Friesner The Thief* by Megan Whalen Turner Models Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies by Erin Dionne Bras and [...]

  3. SLJ’s Top 100 Chapter Books 2012 | nita's books - March 16, 2013

    [...] Me by Rebecca Stead (2009) #12 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling (1999) #13 The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner (1997) #14 The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (1938) #15 The Secret Garden by [...]

  4. SLJ’s Top 100 Chapter Books 2012 | nita's books - April 19, 2013

    [...] Rebecca Stead (2009) *#12 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling (1999) ♥ *#13 The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner (1997) ♥♥♥ *#14 The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (1938) ♥ *#15 The [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

