[P] The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

18 Apr

The subtitle is a great short synopsis:

A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy.

The Penderwicks series by Jeanne Birdsall feels like the books I read when I was growing up about middle class white families living on the other side of the country. Which in this case is nostalgic (and a good thing), although at the time, I desperately longed for books about people more like me. (Tons of people in my generation and the ones slightly above are writing books now, though, so there are so many great books out now!) This was probably why I retreated to fantasy, where even if the main characters were primarily the same as the ones in the realistic fiction books I was reading, there was more room for the imagination.

That said, I enjoyed the first book so much that I ordered the next book at the library, and I was probably the first person to read the copy of the third book I placed on hold right when it came out. All three books are now available at my local library, but at the time, there were only a few copies of the sequels in the whole library system.

This series about four sisters ranging from kinder to tweenish is a high interest book for girls and a relatively easy read. Appropriate for reading aloud (there’s even a read-aloud version!) or for independent readers about 3rd grade and up. Boys may have a harder time relating to the girls, but they may also enjoy the sisters’ antics. ;)

Interesting note: the first book won the 2005 National Book Award for Young People! I didn’t even know there was a Young People category until now.

This post is my Blogging from A to Z entry for the letter P. 

6 Responses to “[P] The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall”

  1. sharkbytes April 18, 2012 at 6:11 am #

    Good review. Sounds interesting enough that I might read one. I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs this month. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

    • nita April 18, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! I can’t believe you’ve made it down to my part of the list already (I’m pretty sure I’m near the bottom). Good luck with the rest of the list and the rest of the month!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book List « nita's books - December 11, 2012

    [...] Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher* by Bruce Coville Sideways Stories from Wayside School* by Louis Sachar The Penderwicks* by Jeanne Birdsall The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo The Magician’s Elephant by [...]

  2. SLJ’s Top 100 Chapter Books 2012 | nita's books - March 16, 2013

    [...] on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder (1935) #28 The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman (1995) #29 The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy by Jeanne Birdsall (2005) #30 Matilda by Roald Dahl (1988) #31 Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland [...]

  3. [J] Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson | nita's books - April 11, 2013

    [...] It was written more recently than I expected, too, in 2001. I first heard of Ibbotson when I read The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall, but after reading this book, the omnibus of three of her books just jumped to the top of my [...]

  4. SLJ’s Top 100 Chapter Books 2012 | nita's books - April 19, 2013

    [...] on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder (1935) *#28 The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman (1995) *#29 The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy by Jeanne Birdsall (2005) ♥ *#30 Matilda by Roald Dahl (1988) ♥ *#31 Alice’s Adventures in [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

