[L] Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

13 Apr

And now back to our regularly scheduled books. :) Little Women by Louisa May Alcott was probably one of my first favorite books as a child. I remember begging my mom for this beautiful hardcover copy with full-color prints of paintings inside, illustrating the story.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, Illustrated by Ed Martinez

The huge book was illustrated with gorgeous paintings like the one on the cover by Ed Martinez.

I think I was in fourth grade when I first read this book, and I identified with Jo’s love of reading (if not with her love of writing) and her hair. I remember thinking that $25 was not worth cutting off my hair for (which was probably the right choice, since it was a while before I found a short cut that suited me). I still tend to grow my hair long (I’m too lazy to get it cut, and I always wonder how long I will last before I get fed up with it).

Looking back, I think Jo’s relationship with her sisters was somewhat strange to me, because my sister was so much younger that she wasn’t someone I could hang out with until I was much older. Now that I am much older, I have a better understanding of the bond between sisters and just how strange they (we) can be. Haha.

I feel like I’ve kind of outgrown this book now, which is kind of sad. I don’t know if I would like it as much if I read it now, but it’s nice to be able to think back fondly of a time when this book was one of my most prized possessions.

I don’t think I realized that it was set during the Civil War until I was in college, but since that was when Alcott was alive, I suppose that would make Little Women realistic fiction. Although for us, it would probably go under historic fiction…

Girls (who love books or their hair) should read it at least once in their lives, if only just to know what everyone else is talking about. From what I can remember, kids can learn about themes of family, love, loss, and overcoming challenges or hard times.

This post is my Blogging from A to Z entry for the letter L. 

7 Responses to “[L] Little Women by Louisa May Alcott”

  1. A.D. Duling April 13, 2012 at 4:16 am #

    I love the Little Women, I watch the movie to (the one with Winnona Rider) over an over. As for the hair, you would have to pay me way more than $25. I keep my hair long, easy styling. (pigtail)

    • nita April 13, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

      That’s one of the few movies I kept with me through college and still have accessible now :)

      • A.D. Duling April 14, 2012 at 5:35 am #

        I have mine, my kids roll their eyes whenever its on TV and I wan watch it :0)

  2. blissflower1969 April 13, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    I think I need to go back and read this again. I tried when I was a tween, and although I also shared Jo’s love for books, I had a harder time relating to the sister relationships because I was an only child. It made me feel a little left out. I think I’ll give it another go and see if, now that I have “sisters from another mister” type friendships, it will make more sense.

    • nita April 13, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

      I was also jealous of the relationship the sisters had when I read it, because my sister was only about five, so she wasn’t much fun to play with then, haha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SLJ’s Top 100 Chapter Books 2012 | nita's books - March 16, 2013

    [...] Dolphins by Scott O’Dell (1960) #46 The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi (1990) #47 Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (1868) #48 The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket (1999) #49 My Father’s Dragon [...]

  2. SLJ’s Top 100 Chapter Books 2012 | nita's books - April 19, 2013

    [...] Dolphins by Scott O’Dell (1960) *#46 The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi (1990) *#47 Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (1868) ♥ *#48 The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket (1999) *#49 My Father’s [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

